Sign In Forgot Password

November 22, 2018

Dear members and friends,

Or Haneshamah continues to be at a pivotal point in its history, playing a growing role in the lives of its members and in the wider Ottawa Jewish community.

While we recognize that Or Haneshamah is just one of many worthy causes that you support, we are appealing to you to make OrH a high priority in your charitable giving this year and for years to come.


While our members and High Holy Day visitors pay fees, they only go so far to cover the costs of running a vibrant Jewish community. Like congregations everywhere, we must seek voluntary donations in order to sustain our programming and meet the needs of our community. We have not raised fees for members or visitors for several years, but the truth is that this year has seen an unexpected decline in our received revenues. After taking into account the fee reductions that we offer people in need, our fees would have to increase significantly if we didn't hold our fundraising campaign.

Our members and supporters have been clear about what they want: a widening variety of ways to express their Judaism and engage with the community, led by Rabbi Liz. Your voluntary donations make that possible.

As such, the OrH Board has set a fundraising target this year of $30,000. We cannot achieve that ambitious goal without you, the people who make Or Haneshamah what it is.

Or Haneshamah will issue a charitable tax receipts for all fundraising campaign donations. That receipt will earn you a 40% tax credit, regardless of your personal income level, if you have already donated at least $200 to charities in this income tax year.

donate

Donating is easy. Just click the "donate" button above. You can pay online via PayPal with no added convenience fees. You can divide your PayPal payment over as many as five installments. If you prefer to pay by cheque or Interac eTransfer, the instructions for those are on the payment page.

On behalf of the entire congregation, we thank you for giving generously to our community, and we promise to keep you up to date as the campaign progresses. Please let us know if you have any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

The OrH Board of Directors

Monica, Interim President: president@orh.ca
Paula, Past President: past-president@orh.ca
Jacob, Treasurer: treasurer@orh.ca
Martine, Interim Secretary: secretary@orh.ca
David, Communications: communications@orh.ca
Halina, Interim Member-at-Large: member-at-large.halina@orh.ca
Michael, Learning: learning@orh.ca
Jean, Member-at-Large: member-at-large.jean@orh.ca
Barbara, Membership: membership@orh.ca
Sharon, Member-at-Large: member-at-large.sharon@orh.ca
Sarah, Interim Member-at-Large: member-at-large.sarah@orh.ca

Fri, December 14 2018 6 Tevet 5779