2017 Annual Fundraising Campaign

donate

Dear friends and members,

Or Haneshamah is at a pivotal point in its history, playing a growing role in the lives of its members and visitors and in the wider Ottawa Jewish community.

While we recognize that Or Haneshamah is just one of many worthy causes that its members and visitors support, we are appealing to you to make Or Haneshamah a high priority in your charitable giving this year and for years to come.

While our members and High Holy Day visitors pay fees, they only go so far to cover the costs of running a vibrant Jewish community. Like congregations everywhere, we must seek voluntary donations in order to sustain our programming and meet the needs of our members and visitors. And you have been clear about what you want: a widening variety of ways to engage with Or Haneshamah, led by Rabbi Liz.

This means that we continue to need funds beyond the fees that we collect in order to cover the costs of existing programming and new innovations. While affiliation with Or Haneshamah continues to grow and has produced a small increase in revenue over last year, that revenue is not enough to support the services and events that our members and visitors are looking for.

As such, the Or Haneshamah Board has set a fundraising target of $25,000 this year. We cannot achieve that ambitious goal without you, the people who make Or Haneshamah what it is. No matter how small the donation, we hope to see participation from every household.

Remember that Or Haneshamah issues charitable tax receipts for all fundraising campaign donations. Under income tax rules and rates, that receipt will earn you a 40% tax credit, regardless of your personal income level, if you have already donated at least $200 to charities in this income tax year.

Donating is easy. Just click on the donate button at the top of this page, scroll down to the “Payment via PayPal” section and then enter your contact information and amount. Note that we are not charging convenience fees for donations and that you can divide your PayPal payment over as many as five installments. If you prefer to pay by cheque or Interac eTransfer, the instructions for those are on the same webpage.

On behalf of the entire community, we thank you for giving generously, and we promise to keep you up to date as the campaign progresses. Please let us know if you have any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

The OrH Board of Directors

Paula, President: president@orh.ca
Mark, Past President: past-president@orh.ca
Jacob, Treasurer: treasurer@orh.ca
David, Secretary: secretary@orh.ca
David, Communications: communications@orh.ca
Jan, Member-at-Large: member-at-large.jan@orh.ca
Heni, Education: learning@orh.ca
Jean, Member-at-Large: member-at-large.jean@orh.ca
Janet, Membership: membership@orh.ca

November 9, 2017.

Tue, November 21 2017 3 Kislev 5778